Automatically clear browsing history when closing Microsoft Edge

It never hurts to delete your browser data from time to time. But if you share a computer with others, it’s best to do this every time you close the browser. Fortunately, Microsoft Edge allows you to automatically clear your browsing history.

The Microsoft Edge web browser on Windows 10 and Mac allows you to clear your browsing and personal data every time you close the browser. In fact, Edge also lets you do this with a hotkey. The data that will be deleted are the following:

  • browsing history
  • download history
  • cookies and other site data
  • saved images and files
  • passwords
  • autofill form data
  • site permissions

You can control autofill from the Settings menu.

To get started, open the Microsoft Edge browser on your computer and click the three-dot menu button on the toolbar. Then click on the button: Settings.

Navigate to the “Privacy, Search and Services” section in the sidebar, and in the “Clear browsing data” section, click on the option “Choose what to delete each time you close the browser.”

Choose what to clear every time you close the browser microsoft edge

Enable all the data you wish to delete upon closing of Microsoft Edge.

Clear browsing data on close Microsoft Edge

Done! You have set up and started the automatic process. The next time you close and restart the Microsoft Edge browser, the designated data will be deleted from local memory.

If you don’t like the automatic shutdown, you can always consider pressing the shortcut keys CTRL+ Shift + Del. This will open a dialog where you can do the same.

Clear browsing data in Microsoft Edge

I hope this article has helped you to automatically delete browsing data when you close Microsoft Edge. Thank you for reading!

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *